Patience

As I spent my day with my little brother today, I had a chance to teach him about patience.  We took the Canada Line to Aberdeen Mall in Richmond BC on Saturday, August 22 2009.

Patience builds relationships

People think about waiting when they think about being patient.  When my little brother and I were waiting in front of the washroom for Cathy, my little brother became impatient because he wanted to go to a candy shop that he had been yearning for.  He told me, “let’s just leave her there.”I told him, “patience buddy!  That’s one of the most important thing in life.”  Indeed, I didn’t like to wait either, but because of my impatience, I had lost many good relationships — I don’t want my little brother to experience the same as I did.

If we left Cathy there and went to the candy shop, what would have happened?  Perhaps Cathy would have been nervous since she couldn’t see anyone waiting.  She did not have her phone with her, so she couldn’t reach us by phone.  She would have been panicking.  It’s just not a pleasant experience for her.  Hence, often times, this kind of experience is when a crack starts to appear in the bond between two people.

Cathy came out of the washroom, and saw us waiting for her.  She was happy to see us there.

Patience entails tenacity

I notice that sometimes my little brother tends to quit too early.  From my observation, his lack of tenacity is due to his impatience — he wants shortcuts.  However, if there isn’t a shortcut, he will give up and move on to the next thing immediately.

By teaching my little brother patience, I notice that he starts to give things a second try even when he knows that a shortcut doesn’t exist – he became patient of the process.

Patience is a hard skill to master

I had been struggled with being patient until I was enlightened by God’s words from the Bible.  King David used to be a shepherd for decades until God’s calling.  David then became one of the greatest king in the Bible.

Pastor Dave told me that if I find myself digging an endless dark hole, then I must feel thankful to the opportunity because the deeper I dig, the greater a skyscraper I will build later on.  Since then, I have always felt thankful to any process I experience.  I find that always feeling thankful has been a cure to my impatience.

Therefore, sometimes people feel that patience is a hard skill to master because people feel hard to appreciate every circumstance in life.

Growth and Possibility

It’s been almost 4 months since I first met with my little brother.  Although we only spend 4 to 6 hours a week together, I can see the change in him.  At the end of the day, I just don’t want to see him being defined by his circumstances or by others because I can see a lot of potential in him.  I wish, by mastering patience and practicing tenacity, he will achieve the success he deserves.

About Daniel Chu
“Success is to drive and continually shape the excellence in you and around you” – Daniel Chu Born in January 1st 1983 in Taipei Taiwan, Daniel Che Yi Chu moved to Ontario Canada by himself at the age of 14, seeking for better education. In 2007, Daniel obtained his Honor Bachelor of Science (with distinction) in Computer Science (Software Engineering) from the University of Toronto, St. George campus. Currently an IT Project Manager at TELUS, Daniel is leading teams with up to 15 members and managing budgets between $100K-$800K, facilitating a $900M deal with the Quebec government (http://bit.ly/17A6tu). Since graduation, Daniel joined TELUS’s Leadership Development Program (http://bit.ly/bLnKD), which gave him an opportunity to explore different professional roles, such as a Business Analyst, Developer, IT Project Manager, Human Resources Project Manager, and Strategic Advisor. Continued to grow, Daniel joined Toastmasters in 2008, and obtained both the Competent Leader and Competent Communicator designation in 2009. Also in 2009, Daniel was nominated and elected President of his Toastmasters Club (http://www.telespeakers.com). Daniel is a committed Christian who is also a committed volunteer at Big Brothers and the Crisis Center. He helps the Crisis Center deliver suicide prevention workshops at Vancouver’s high schools. Daniel enjoys various activities, such as swimming, playing basketball, and bowling. He also enjoys reading and writing.

Leave a Reply

