Being real!

What does it mean to be real?  Well, first of all, you have to know who you are in order to be real.

Where I came from

I came from an entrepreneurial family.  My grandpa started the first department store in Taiwan.  My uncle #1 started a commercial airline, my uncle #2 started a clean tech company, my granduncle is the Chairman of Taiwanese Business Association in China, and the list goes on.

Hence, when I was young, my playground was their boardrooms, and I truly enjoyed all the intense, aggressive discussions in there.

The lost Identity

When I started to work in the corporate world, I started to lose my identity.

People asked me to stay low and stay down for everything, even for the things I truly believe in.  People ask me to not stick my head out and just follow the current.  I started to become very good at it, but at the same time, I started to feel frustrated when I got home every night.

At that time, I didn’t know why and I thought perhaps I just needed a bit more work-life balance.

Questioning the Identity

I started to take some vacations and shut down my work communication devices every day at 7 p.m., but nothing was improved.  I then started to take some more vacations and play harder during the weekends, and things just kept going south.

I started to ask myself: why things are not improving?  In fact, what am I doing here?  Why am I doing it?  What does it mean to me personally?  Am I answering my own calling or I am living my entire life answering other people’s calling on me?

Who am I exactly?

Recovering from the Woods

I thought about changing jobs.  In fact, some headhunters got in touch with me through my network, asking me to take a more than doubled salary and be in charge of a newly re-org’ed IT department at a large company.  The money was really attractive as I thought to myself that I could finally get myself a Mercedes.

However, I turned the deal down, and I quit my job soon after so because I found my real identity back — I was born and raised as an entrepreneur — that’s who I really am!

Find out who you are, and be real to yourself!

Right now, I live my everyday in joy and excitements — I found myself back in those boardrooms, but this time, it’s in my own boardroom!  I love what I do even though it’s a million times tougher than what I did in my last job — I love it because I love who I am now!

I am not saying that you have to be an entrepreneur to enjoy life, and I am not saying that working in the corporate world is bad.  In fact, I think everyone should at least try the corporate experience once in their career no matter what they want to do in life.

What I am saying is that you got to find out who you are in order to be happy: a designer, a real-estate developer, or a doctor — you name it!

If you are not happy about who you are, then how can you be happy about what you do?

Find out who you are and be real, not to anyone else, but to yourself!

About Daniel Chu
“Success is to drive and continually shape the excellence in you and around you” – Daniel Chu Born in January 1st 1983 in Taipei Taiwan, Daniel Che Yi Chu moved to Ontario Canada by himself at the age of 14, seeking for better education. In 2007, Daniel obtained his Honor Bachelor of Science (with distinction) in Computer Science (Software Engineering) from the University of Toronto, St. George campus. Currently an IT Project Manager at TELUS, Daniel is leading teams with up to 15 members and managing budgets between $100K-$800K, facilitating a $900M deal with the Quebec government (http://bit.ly/17A6tu). Since graduation, Daniel joined TELUS’s Leadership Development Program (http://bit.ly/bLnKD), which gave him an opportunity to explore different professional roles, such as a Business Analyst, Developer, IT Project Manager, Human Resources Project Manager, and Strategic Advisor. Continued to grow, Daniel joined Toastmasters in 2008, and obtained both the Competent Leader and Competent Communicator designation in 2009. Also in 2009, Daniel was nominated and elected President of his Toastmasters Club (http://www.telespeakers.com). Daniel is a committed Christian who is also a committed volunteer at Big Brothers and the Crisis Center. He helps the Crisis Center deliver suicide prevention workshops at Vancouver’s high schools. Daniel enjoys various activities, such as swimming, playing basketball, and bowling. He also enjoys reading and writing.

2 Responses to Being real!

  1. That is great advice. Not many people have your history, or your family’s history, but the goal of finding one’s own voice is an important one for everyone.

  2. Pingback: Why SilkStart? « Daniel Chu

Leave a Reply

