Source of Inspiration

Many have asked, “what’s your source of inspiration?”

In my opinion, inspiration is about values and principles.  I get inspired by admiring the values and principles a particular event demonstrates.  For example, I value honesty and hard-work.  Therefore, when I read a story about strong work ethic, I get inspired.  But where do you find these stories?

I read Success every month and it has been a magical source of inspiration to me.  Every issue is packed with more than a dozen success stories and tips on how to handle a particular situation.  For example, in the September 2009 issue, I’ve learned about the steps to handle criticisms constructively and positively: http://www.successmagazine.com/current/issue.  These stories and tips not only help me solidify my values and principles, but also give me opportunities to understand myself better – what do I really value?  What kind of life do I really like to live?  What am I going to say to myself when I am at my 80th birthday?  Moreover, Success recharges my mental battery.

I think it is also important to be spiritually renewed regularly.  Therefore, I go to Church every Sunday to renew myself spiritually.  I believe that there is a spiritual realm that exists outside of the three-dimension world we live in.  In order to be strong and equipped to do great exploits, one needs to keep both worlds in order.  At least in my case, I feel more empowered when I do so.

Being inspired is only the first step.  Being able to apply the inspiration to your life is the critical next step.  I train myself to do so by reading Wall Street Journals, applying the values and principles I learn, and expressing my point of view to each news article I read.  I sharpen my decision-making skills by doing so as I force myself to make a conscious judgement call about the information I absorb.

We operate on a balanced battery of physical, mental, and spiritual energy.  I am only at my best when the three sources of energy are fully charged and regularly renewed.

About Daniel Chu
“Success is to drive and continually shape the excellence in you and around you” – Daniel Chu Born in January 1st 1983 in Taipei Taiwan, Daniel Che Yi Chu moved to Ontario Canada by himself at the age of 14, seeking for better education. In 2007, Daniel obtained his Honor Bachelor of Science (with distinction) in Computer Science (Software Engineering) from the University of Toronto, St. George campus. Currently an IT Project Manager at TELUS, Daniel is leading teams with up to 15 members and managing budgets between $100K-$800K, facilitating a $900M deal with the Quebec government (http://bit.ly/17A6tu). Since graduation, Daniel joined TELUS’s Leadership Development Program (http://bit.ly/bLnKD), which gave him an opportunity to explore different professional roles, such as a Business Analyst, Developer, IT Project Manager, Human Resources Project Manager, and Strategic Advisor. Continued to grow, Daniel joined Toastmasters in 2008, and obtained both the Competent Leader and Competent Communicator designation in 2009. Also in 2009, Daniel was nominated and elected President of his Toastmasters Club (http://www.telespeakers.com). Daniel is a committed Christian who is also a committed volunteer at Big Brothers and the Crisis Center. He helps the Crisis Center deliver suicide prevention workshops at Vancouver’s high schools. Daniel enjoys various activities, such as swimming, playing basketball, and bowling. He also enjoys reading and writing.

Leave a comment